CONTACT: Professor John Quale (505) 277-2903; quale@unm.edu

January 5, 2017 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

10th ANNUAL JEFF HARNAR AWARD for CONTEMPORARY ARCHITECTURE in NEW MEXICO

CALL FOR ENTRIES ANNOUNCED

ALBUQUERQUE, NM – The *Jeff Harnar Award for Contemporary Architecture* is now accepting submissions for the 2017 award cycle. This is the 10th year of this award that honors the late Jeff Harnar, known for his groundbreaking design in contemporary architecture in Santa Fe, NM. The *Jeff Harnar Award* is a prestigious award in the architectural profession and offers one of the top prize amounts in the country, awarding the winner a \$10,000 cash prize. Submissions must be from an architect or architectural firm for a singular work of architecture built in New Mexico which has been completed since January 1, 2011. The architect or architecture firm do not need to be from New Mexico and there is no limit to the number of entries per firm or architect. **Entries must be completed and received no later than 4:30** p.m., February 9, 2017. Details for the submission requirements are available at http://www.jeffharnaraward.com/submit-an-entry-judging-process.aspx.

The *Harnar* prize and program is sponsored by the Thornburg Foundation, who has sponsored this award for the past 10 years. The University of New Mexico's School of Architecture + Planning organizes the event and determines both the award process and selection of the jury.

The award presentation and celebration will be held on February 24, 2017 at 5:30 p.m. at the School of Architecture + Planning's Garcia Honda Auditorium located at George Pearl Hall at UNM. A jury of architects will narrow the submissions to the top three entries and the winner will be announced at the award presentation.

"The award was created in Jeff's honor to encourage creativity and excellence in contemporary architectural design," said Garrett Thornburg, Chairman of the Thornburg Foundation. "We want to promote contemporary architecture and sustainable design of new architectural forms which celebrate and integrate with the unique landscape of New Mexico."

Geraldine Forbes Isais, Dean of the School of Architecture and Planning said, "The *Jeff Harnar Award* program implicitly asks the architectural community to challenge all New Mexicans to examine the urban and rural conditions of the state and advance an architecture that is sometimes respectful, sometimes provocative - but always contemporary and uniquely New Mexican."

This year the Harnar Award Speaker, **Benjamin Gilmartin, Partner at Diller Scofidio + Renfro, New York, NY**, will also serve as jury chair. The other jurors are: Ane Gonzalez Lara, UNM Assistant Professor of Architecture; Luis Ibarra, Ibarra Rosano Design Architects, Tucson, AZ; Charlotte McKernan, UNM Master of Architecture candidate; Charles Menefee, AIA, Associate Professor of Architecture, University of Virginia. UNM Architecture Director and Professor John Quale is the Director of the Harnar Award.